ARJE’s Advocacy Team actively works to support and promote the individual educator in his/her own work and also raise the status of the profession of Jewish education in the larger Jewish community. We offer resources to help our members advocate for themselves and promote their work through training webinars, recognition opportunities, accreditation and more.

The ARJE Advocacy Team, co-led by Cory Hermann and Sandy Robbins, RJE, is currently composed of four committees, each of which is committed to elevating the profession of Jewish Educator. The Advocacy committees are:


The Recognition Committee works on creating various awards and chances for educators to be honored for their hard work and innovation in the field. The Recognition group seeks to make sure that educators get the kavod they deserve both within our ARJE community as well as within the Reform Movement at large. This committee is led by Diane Zimmerman and Dana Prottas, RJE.


Working in partnership with HUC-JIR, the Externs Committee (previously known as Interns) focuses on the future of our profession by offering a taste of Jewish professional life to future educational leaders. College students and recent graduates considering a career in Jewish Education are invited to fully participate in an ARJE annual gathering, where they can learn with, and from, Reform Jewish educators from North America and Israel. This committee is led by Yael Dadoun and Sarah Lauing, RJE.


The Accreditation Committee sets up and implements a structured evaluation process for participation by interested schools. Schools that are endorsed and by ARJE receive the benefit of taking part in an enriching assessment process and hold the honor of saying that they are ARJE Accredited. This committee is led by Marlene Myerson, RJE and Melanie Cole Goldberg, RJE.

Retirement Resources

Our newest committee, the Retirement Resources Committee is a joint venture between ARJE and Ziknay NATE. This committee seeks to create resources and suggestions for both educators and their institutions around the subject of retirement. This committee is led by Sharon Amster Brown, RJE and Harriet Levine, RJE.