Posted on June 5th, 2014

Honoring the NATE Educator

Milestone Awards:
The following educators are honored for their years (13, 18, 25, 40, 50 and Retirement) of leadership in Jewish education:

Dr. Sandy Andron Temple Kol Emeth (formerly)Marietta, GA 50 years
Suzanne Bojdak Temple Sinai – OaklandOakland, CA 13 years
Barbara Brot Bailey Temple Rodef ShalomFalls Church, VA 18 years
Dale Cohen, RJE Temple Beth ElFort Meyers, FL 13 years
Susan Cohn Temple Adat ShalomPoway, CA 25 years
Robin Eisenberg, RJE Temple Beth ElBoca Raton, FL 40 years
Lisa Friedman Temple Beth-ElHillsborough, NJ 13 years
Margaret Gold Temple IsaiahFulton, MD 13 years
Rabbi Joui Hessel, RJE Washington Hebrew CongregationWashington DC 13 years
Karen Juncker-Albert Temple Bat YahmNewport Beach, CA Retirement
Ava Keenen Kurnow Beth IsraelSan Diego, CA 30 years
Sara Losch Barnert TempleFranklin Lakes, NJ 18 years
Orly Mendelson Biggie, RJE Congregation Bet Ha’amSouth Portland, ME 25 years
Marcia Rittmaster Congregation Beth TorahOverland Park, KS Retirement/18 years
Lori Sagarin, RJE Temple Beth IsraelSkokie, IL 30 years
Stephanie Schwartz Main Line Reform Temple – Beth ElohimWynnewood, PA 13 years
Sabrina Silverberg Temple Emanu-ElSarasota, FL 13 years
Debra Siroka, RJE Temple Beth-ElSouth Bend, IN 18 years
Pamela Weil Temple Beth DavidWestwood, MA 18 years
Dr. Michael Zeldin, RJE Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of ReligionLos Angeles, CA 36 years

Yad b’Yad Award:
This year’s award representing “An Innovative Approach to Integrating Israel into the Curriculum” went to Dana Prottas, RJE, Mt. Zion Temple, St. Paul, MN for her creative submission titled “Israel-in-a-Box”.

Distinguished Educator Award:
At the March 2014 ARJE Kallah in Chicago, Dr. Michael Zeldin, Professor of Jewish Education and Senior National Director of HUC-JIR’s Schools of Education, was presented with the Distinguished Educator Award.

For information about any of these prestigious ARJE awards please contact Diane Zimmerman, Recognition Chair