As part of the ARJE’s commitment to advocating for the field of Jewish education, the Association presents a number of awards to practitioners whose work exemplifies best practices.

Past Awards and Recognition:

Yad B’Yad Award

The Yad B’Yad Award, established in 2010, recognizes innovative programming and curricula. The purpose of this award is to share the achievements of our members and draw attention to their exemplary contributions to Jewish education. Each award winner receives a yad in recognition.

2021-22 Reflect, Refresh Refocus

Jackie Klein, Religious School and Youth Programing Director, Temple Israel, West Palm Beach, FL  

2020-21 Excellence in Jewish Education

Alison Weikel, Director of Education, Temple Shir Tikva, Wayland, MA.

2019-20 Change Processes

Jay Rapoport: Director of Lifelong Learning, Temple Sholom, Chicago, IL

2017-18 Radical Thinking

Congregation B’nai Jeshrun- Short Hills, NJ

Camp Harlam- Kunkletown, PA

2016-17 Intentional Leadership

Rabbi Nicki Greninger, Director of Education, Temple Isaiah, Lafayette, CA

2015-16 Innovative Approaches to Youth and/or Teen Mental Health

Rabbi Suzie Jacobson, Education Director Temple Israel, Boston, MA

2014-15 An Innovative Program and/or Approach to Jewish Education

Lori Green, Education Director Temple Sholom in Broomall, Broomall, PA

2013-14 An Innovative Approach to Integrating Israel into the Curriculum

Dana Prottas RJE, Lower School and Hebrew School Director, Mt. Zion Temple, St. Paul, MN

2012-13 An Innovative Approach to Student Learning

Rabbi Nicki Greninger, Director of Education, Temple Isaiah, Lafayette, CA
Kate Milgrom, Education Director at Temple Emanu El, Orange Village, OH

2011-12 Exceptional Professional Learning for Educational Staff

 MaRabbi Nicki Greninger, Director of Education, Temple Isaiah, Lafayette, CA
Kate Milgrom, Education Director at Temple Emanu El, Orange Village, OHrla Wolf, Director of Religious School on behalf of the education team at Anshe Chesed Fairmount Temple, Beachwood, OH

2010-11: Outstanding Teen Engagement Programming

Barrett Harr, as Director of High School and Youth Programs on behalf of the education team at Temple Shalom, Dallas, TX

Distinguished Educators Award

The Distinguished Educator Award honors educators who exemplify the values of ARJE and make significant contributions to Reform Jewish education, in all its forms.

2022-2023 Houston, TX
Arliene Botnick, RJE
Dr. Kathy Schwartz, RJE
Rabbi Julia Weisz

2021-2022 Baltimore, MD
Lisa Langer, RJE
Rachel Margolis, RJE
Sarah Gluck

2019-20 – Boulder, CO
Dr. Lesley Litman, RJE
Jo-Ellen Unger, RJE

2018-19 – Washington, D.C.
Saul Kaiserman, RJE
Rabbi Stacy Rigler, RJE

2017-18 – Seattle
Nachama Skolnik Moskowitz, RJ

2016-17 – St. Louis
Rabbi Steven Rau, RJE
Joan Carr, RJE

2015-16 – Yom Iyun Day of Learning
Beth Ellen Young, RJE

2014-15 – Philadelphia
Rabbi Joseph Eiduson, RJE
Deborah Niederman, RJE
Ira Wise, RJE

2013-14 – Chicago
Dr. Michael Zeldin, RJE

2011-12 – San Antonio
Melanie Cole Goldberg, RJE
Dr. Alan Levin

2010-11 – Seattle
Lori Daitch
Dr. Jeff Kondritzer
Dr. Anne Lidsky, RJ

2009-10 – Alexandria
Sandy Robbins, RJE

2008-09 – Nashville
Anne Berman-Waldorf
Robin Eisenberg, RJE
Rabbi Stan Schickler, RJE
Anne Stein

2007-08 – Boulder
Vanessa Ehrlich, RJE
Ron Leff, RJE
Sorel Goldberg Loeb
Fred Marcus, z”l
Sharon Morton, RJE
Robbie Russock

2006-07 – Kansas City
Dr. Roberta Goodman, RJE
Rabbi Jan Katzew, RJE
Dr. Toby Kurzband, z”l
Lori Sagarin, RJE

2005-06 – Newport Beach
Lisa Lieberman Barzilai, RJE
Mindy Davids, RJE
Rabbi Barry Diamond, RJE
Max Frankel, FRE, RJE, z”l
Lynda Gutcheon, RJE
Sandra Segel
Dr. Zena Sulkes, RJE, z”l
Julie Vanek, RJE

2004-05 – New York
Lisa Goldstein, RJE
Constance Reiter, RJE
Lesley Silverstone, RJE

Jewish Educational Leadership Award

The ARJE has created this award to recognize outstanding Leaders in Jewish Education whose lifetime work has contributed greatly to the ARJE and furthered the field of Jewish education overall.

2022 - Rabbi Stan Schickler, RJE

2021 - Rabbi Bruce Raff, RJE

2015 - Rabbi Samuel K. Joseph, PhD, RJE

Rebecca Gratz Award

Rebecca Gratz founded the first Sunday school in Philadelphia in the 1830s, which led to the congregational school so closely associated with the growth of Reform movement. The Rebecca Gratz Award is presented to a member of the ARJE whose commitment, expertise and contribution to congregational education serve as a model of excellence for all in the ARJE, the Reform movement, and throughout North America.

2015 - Robin Eisenberg, RJE